Ethiopia’s First Lady Zinash Tayachew graces Women First 5km

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

Ethiopia’s First Lady Zinash Tayachew graces Women First 5km

10 March 2019 – Ethiopia’s First Lady H/E ZinashTayachew graces the UN 2019 Women 5km 16th edition this morning as she flags off 13,000 registered participants for the annual women only race along with H/E Yealem Tsegaye (Minister, Ministry of Women, Children, and Youth), Mr. Aeneas Chuma (UN Resident and Humanitarian Coordinator), Haile Gebreselasie (Founder, Great Ethiopian Run). Athlete Yalemzerf Yehuala was the winner in atime of 15:44. Athletes Obse Abdeta (15:48) and Birhan Mihretu (15:57) finished the race second and third respectively.

The race that was organized in partnership with Ministry of Women, Children and Youth and UN Ethiopia under the slogan “I lead” to promote women’s role in leadership celebrate its 16th edition this year. The event was started in 2004 with 4,000 women participants has got bigger and bigger each year celebrating Ethiopian Women’s achievements economically, socially and politically. This year is special as Ethiopia has elected its first women president and fifty percent of the cabinet are women. Lead by Yealem Tsegay (Minster, MoWCY) five women State Ministers, three from MoWCY (Semegn Wube, Hiwot Hailu and Alemitu Omud) and two from Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Hirut Zemen and Ambassador Birtukan Ayano) attended the event.

Over thirty icon Ethiopian women selected from different fields were part of the event and competed among themselves. Singer Biruktawit Getahun (Betty G) was the winner in a time of 30:35. UN women heads of agencies competed among themselves and Ana Parini was the winner in a time of 31:45.

The Great Ethiopian Run organizing team learnt about the tragic incident of Ethiopian Airlines ET302 flying morning from Addis to Nairobi at the end of the event. Our thoughts and Prayers are with the families of those onboard.

Top 3 athletes result

1. Yalemzerf Yahuala – 15:44

2. Obse Abdeta – 15:48

3. Birhan Mihretu – 15:57

Top 3 icon women result

1. Betty G – 30:35

2. Netsehet Workneh – 34:10

3. Yoadan Tilahun – 38:21

Top 3 UN head of agencies result

1. Anna Parini – 31:45

2. Louise Chamberlain – 37:46

3. Alexandra de Sousa – 37:49

More To Explore